DBA Performance Series: Making SQL Performance Solutions "Stick"

By: Tim DelChiaro

Abstract: Live Webinar August 29, 2012 with Karen Morton

Sql_Webinar_Morton-nodate_08-29-12_680x150


Wednesday, August 29, 2012
Europe: 7:00am PDT / 10:00am EDT / 14:00 GMT
North America: 11:00am PDT / 2:00pm EDT / 18:00 GMT


Register Now

After accurately diagnosing SQL performance issues and ruling out any quick fixes, the wise DBA must understand the context in which the problem resides and determine how to make their solution stick.
 
Karen Morton continues her DBA Performance Series with Making SQL Performance Solutions “Stick”, designed to help DBAs structure the necessary context it takes to make optimal performance changes.

Register for the webinar now to learn:

  • How to adjust statistics collections to accommodate for "sensitive SQL"
  • The differences between SQL Profiles and SQL Baselines and how to implement them
  • How and when you can fool the optimizer into using a desired execution plan without changing SQL text

About Karen Morton

Karen Morton is a consultant and educator specializing in application optimization in both shoulder-to-shoulder consulting engagements and classroom settings. She is a Senior DBA Performance and Tuning Specialist.

For over 20 years, Karen has worked in information technology. Starting as a mainframe programmer and developer, she has been a DBA, a data architect and now is a researcher, educator and consultant. Having used Oracle since the early 90's, she began teaching others how to use Oracle over a decade ago.

Karen is a frequent speaker at conferences and user groups, an Oracle ACE, and a member of the OakTable network (an informal association of "Oracle scientists" that are well known throughout the Oracle community). She blogs at karenmorton.blogspot.com.


Server Response from: ETNASC03