Oracle Community Webinar: Best Practices for Developing Optimally Performing SQL

By: Tim DelChiaro

Abstract: Develop optimized SQL with an Oracle Expert

DB-PowerStudio_Oracle_Webinar_Morton_680x150
Develop optimized SQL with an Oracle Expert

Learn from OakTable Network Member and Oracle ACE Karen Morton as she lets you in on her best practices for developing optimally performing SQL.

Karen will reveal the importance of planning first, what key questions to ask during the process, and using “what if” analysis to ensure your code is performing its best. Attendees of this Oracle Community Webinar will take away best practices such as:

  • Plan first - There's almost always more than one way to write a SQL statement. Cover your bases.
  • Focus on the journey, not the destination - If you are only focused on what the query answer/result is, you'll likely overlook how you write SQL.  Typically, how and why are more important questions to ask.
  • Gather data - You have to know/understand the resource consumption of your SQL in order to know if it will perform well (both short and long term).

blue_gelcap_button_register_now

About Karen Morton, Senior Technical Consultant at Enkitec 
Karen is a Senior Technical Consultant for Enkitec. For more than 20 years, Karen has specialized in information technology, working as a mainframe programmer, developer, DBA, data architect, author, researcher, educator and consultant. Having used Oracle since the early ’90s, she is considered one of the most respected Oracle experts in the tech industry. Her specialty is in Oracle performance optimization, particularly SQL tuning and the optimizer. Karen is the co-author of three books from Apress: Beginning Oracle SQL, Expert Oracle Practices: Database Administration from the Oak Table and Pro Oracle SQL.

As a master presenter she’s taught hundreds how to work effectively in the Oracle platform, and is a frequent speaker at conferences and user groups throughout the year. Karen is an Oracle ACE and a member of the OakTable Network, a network of Oracle scientists who meet at Oracle events to explore better ways of administering and developing Oracle based systems. Follow her blog at http://karenmorton.blogspot.com.

 

Share Webinar:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

blue_gelcap_button_register_now

Thursday, April 5

- 6:00 am PDT / 9:00 am EDT / 13:00 GMT / 2 pm in UK
or
- 11:00am PDT / 2:00pm EDT / 18:00 GMT / 7 pm in UK

Oracle DBA Toolset
DB Oracle

DB PowerStudio for Oracle 
Tools for Oracle Performance Tuning, Administration, and Development

blue_gelcap_button_download_trial


There are many ways to Connect to the Embarcadero Community!
 Stay in touch and keep your profile current at the Embarcadero Developer Network
 Follow us on Twitter   Follow us on Facebook
 Watch us on our YouTube! Channel

Server Response from: ETNASC03